Go Back   Home Education Forums > Home Education Forums > Home Education Law & Policy > England

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 22-03-12, 10:23
HE

Default My local council's home ed "advisory" service

I have no idea if joining this is the right thing to do. I am a newbie! please help! is this the right thing to do, or is it a trap?!

Basically, we've already written the de-registration letter to the head teacher, ready to be set when we're set up properly (this week or next probably) and are weighing up whether or not to join the council's voluntary home ed advisory thingy...

the only thing I dislike about it is the idea of them judging the education to not be good enough; how do they chart if it's good enough?!

http://www.essex.gov.uk/Education-Sc...n-Service.aspx

Please advise! Thank you.
Bookmark and Share
Old 22-03-12, 11:41
HE

Thanked 4,019 Times in 1,161 Posts

Before signing up, ask yourself what benefits you would get from it, and what downsides there are. Then ask yourself if you can get those benefits in another way that doesn't involve signing up.

Of course, if you're deregistering from a school then you'll probably end up with the downsides anyway, because they'll know who you are and probably try the inspection and monitoring thing anyway. (Note that you don't have to let them visit you, and they don't have a statutory duty to monitor home education anyway).

If you know any local home educators then talk to them about what the council people are like, although note that you'll find a range from "nothing wrong with visits, the council are lovely" to "lock the doors and don't let them anywhere near your children". Most of the regular posters on here tend to the latter.

I'm sure Essex has local groups, but another way to find people is via the East Anglian Yahoo group.
Bookmark and Share
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to llondel For This Useful Post:
Elaine Kirk (22-03-12), JaneP (30-03-12)
Old 22-03-12, 15:25
HE